1983 280 SL Advice for a Newbie

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

thesmithsUK

Car
Porsche 911 C4S
Hi,

I'm totally new to the marque so go easy...

But an opportunity to buy a 1983 280 SL has come up from a known, local, trusted source.

I'll get the detail in a few days (history file, service record, etc.) and the opportunity to inspect it up on a ramp...but what are the big issues with this model? Rust, I imagine!

But what else should I be looking for?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Welcome!

Rusty bulkhead, inner wings, base of ddors, bumpers - if the bumper rubber is lifting there's very likely to be rust in the join. Chrome lifting (all chrome expensive).

Check out engine mounts, bushes, steering linkages etc. Rubber seals - check for perishing etc.

Can't say I know enough about the M110 engine with K jet to comment on what to look for there.

Last edited:
Welcome!

Rusty bulkhead, inner wings, base of ddors, bumpers - if the bumper rubber is lifting there's very likely to be rust in the join. Chrome lifting (all chrome expensive).

Check out engine mounts, bushes, steering linkages etc. Rubber seals - check for perishing etc.

Can't say I know enough about the M110 engine with K jet to comment on what to look for there.

Thanks Charles - appreciated.

Yep...rust. Mainly the bulkhead which is mostly undetectable without some stripping down although any damp or sour smelling front carpets are a dead giveaway. To add the Charles's list: boot floor, sills, front Xmember (not the subframe but ahead of that). Many critical parts are also becoming very hard to get and mega expensive. These things are a money-pit.

Great choice for a first Merc. Keep it covered or preferably garaged , they can dissolve overnight if left out in the rain. Watch out for the very rare diesel models . ( only available in Scotland where they do not like to buy fuel too often;) ).