2013 Mercedes Benz E-Class Avantgarde or Sport?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tintin1987

Car
Toyota Aurion
Hi there,

I am looking to purchase a 2013 Mercedes Benz E250 CDI Saloon (in the older 4 square lights look) but am unsure on the Avantgarde or the Sports model?

From what I can gather the Avantgarde has full leather seats and is more of a luxury feel to it?

The Sport version has half leather bucket looking seats and has a bit more control?

Can anyone advise me which one is worth more? Which is the better buy if they were the same price? How much I should be purchasing the car for if it did say, 30,000 miles?

Much appreciate. I am very new to MB and any feedback would be fantastic!!

I have a 2011 E250 Auto Sport estate, full leather, AMG pack. Great car, 50mpg easily attained and that's with a remap giving 255bhp and 510nm torque.
Goes like a steam train and handles well with no crashiness over bumps.

I bought an E350CDI new in 2011 and gave this question a great deal of thought.

Ultimately, the Sport model looks sharper, but if it doesn't have a pano roof the black headliner makes for a very oppressive interior feel. The suspension settings are the same, but the ride in the Avantgarde is better than the Sport due to 17-inch wheels rather than 18's. On a 4-pot car, the Sport gets Direct Steering (a variable ratio rack - nb: not variable assistance, variable ratio) which makes it feel a bit different.

In the end I chose to buy Avantgarde. IMO, it's the better overall package, but the Sport variant is the one most other people went for. Prices for an Avantgarde spec car are generally a bit softer than those for one in Sport trim.

I tried a Avantgarde and a Sport before settling on mine.
Suspension was too soft for me, rolled more on cornering and steering not as sharp.
I like a sporty drive whereas others may like the softer handling of the other models.
Everyone's different though