Advanced driver: are you one?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JumboBeef

Car
W124 E220 Estate Auto
Who here is an advanced driver? More to the point, if you are not one, then why not?

Some people here drive some very powerful and expensive motors.....and yet have not taken the time to improve their driving skills. Why not?

Before I took my advanced driving test (incl. emergency driving), I thought I was a good driver. I'd driven for years, clean licence, never had an at-fault accident, so of course I was a good driver.

How wrong I was. Having completed my advanced test, I could see I used to be, at best, average. I'm afraid that is the same for just about everyone else out there.

So, come on MBers, why not take your advanced driving test asap :thumb:

Last edited:
I want do an advanced driving test, but am not really sure where to start?

Should I just contact IAM or is there some kind of test to take before they'll accept me?

Then contact local IAM branch and attend the course/training.

Have read Roadcraft as part of motorbike CPD but that's it..

I like the idea of taking an advanced driving course, I guess there are just many things which pop up first meaning I never quite get round to it..

It is without question an excellent idea. When ever conditions deteriorate I seem to find myself in tailbacks on the M1 caused by idiots who run into each other.

Ade

I passed my IAM in 1999. 11 years of bad habits have undoubtedly crept back in.

Forget IAM if you really want to learn you need to do the RoSPA advanced driving course much more in depth and up to date and you have to pass the test every 3 years to stay current.

Can you give a quick summary of what's involved?

I'll try, but things may have changed since I did it.
  • register with IAM
  • wait for local IAM instructor to contact me to arrange a mutual time to meet up
  • Meet IAM instructor and drive my car for 30 mins. Debrief.