AMG CL55 Kompressor - tipronic standard?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tiggers

Car
Volvo :-(
Hi there,

Newbie here.

Can you knowledgeable people tell me if all AMG CL 55 Kompressors (2003 on) came with the tiptronic gearbox or not? By that I mean the option to change gear manually via the gear selector and/or the steering wheel.

The reason I ask is I have seen one with no buttons on the sterring wheel but thought they all had a 'manual' change option rather than just being full auto so was wondering if some didnt have the buttons on the steering wheel, but just had the manual option on the selector or whether some were indeed full auto only i.e. no 'manual' option.

Thanks in advance.

Have searched the web for the answer to this but can't find it. All I keep seeing is that as standard the automatic box has a 'manual' mode, but yet the car I am looking at doesn't have the buttons on the wheel..... so is it just missing the buttons on the wheel or is everything I have read wrong and it doens't have a 'manual' mode at all?

Anyone?

I researched this as a retrofit for my 600 and the buttons were only available for AMG. AFAIK, they can be retrofitted. Might as well go for paddle shifters instead of buttons. Have a look here and here. Manual mode can be 'activated'. Speedriven do this as a part of ECU/TCU remap.

I researched this as a retrofit for my 600 and the buttons were only available for AMG. AFAIK, they can be retrofitted. Might as well go for paddle shifters instead of buttons. Have a look here and here. Manual mode can be 'activated'. Speedriven do this as a part of ECU/TCU remap.

Thanks for that, potentially very useful. Cheers :thumb: