Audio advice please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

chouchou

Car
none
I am certain this question has been asked many times however, the world of aftermarket car audio seems to change so rapidly that advice or suggestions given 1 week ago is as stale as a slice of bread left on the counter for the same length of time...anyhow, I have just purchased a beautiful, very low mileage 380 SL that comes with an 8 track...not that bad-sorry to those 8 track lovers out there, but really would like to upgrade the whole sound system...I am a complete novice when it comes to car audio so would appreciate any advice that allows me to bring the car up to 2015 without looking like an episode of bling my ride. Thank you in advance.

Not an expert on SL audio installations - but I think that first of all, you need to consider what your objectives are. A 380SL that's old enough to have an 8-track installed AND has very low mileage is an investment-grade classic vehicle.

A vehicle of that age isn't going to have the mounting points for decent-sized speakers, so your first decision is "How much an I prepared to compromise the value of the vehicle, in order to get decent sound quality?".

Note additionally that a modern stereo will look out of place in your elegant classic car - in your position I'd tend to go for an old head unit from ebay (20-year old top-of-the-range units are now pocket change) and a CD changer in the boot, rather than digital / MP3 kinda thing.

But cutting holes for speakers is a big decision......

HTH, Chris
93 220CE, auto, red / black leather, 102k, Manchester

The first thing to do is measure the existing unit and then go hunting online. The options are basically, a single DIN unit, a single DIN unit with slide out screen, a replica/older style looking unit that has modern innards/workings or, as mentioned, an add on unit that allows music to be played from an exterior source (such as an iPod) through the existing head unit.