Comand "phone error" with Viseeo MBU-1000

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Kenwin

Car
W220 S320 CDI (April 2001)
Hi,

The 2001 S320 CDI I recently bought did not have a telephone handset although I'm pretty sure the fitted 'phone cradle is for a Nokia 6150, so I bought a Viseeo MBU-1000 bluetooth adaptor to use my Sony Ericsson W508 mobile. Comand shows 'phone error' when I press the 'Tel' button. I tried both software A and B but no difference. I'm new to cars with telephone pre-wired. Am I missing something?

Hope someone can be of help.

Have you paired the MBU and the phone - and is the bluetooth light on solid (on the viseeo)

It should just work (probaby on A setting)

RIchard

Sorry, should have mentioned that COMAND also says 'No phone', even though MBU-1000 is seated perfectly within the cradle. Same message when the cradle was empty. I've not seen any lights on the MBU-1000 so unable to pair. Only had it delivered a couple of days but could it be a dud MBU-1000? Or how to check if it's a problem with the telephone pre-wired? Sorry if I seem such a noddy!

Just ordered mains charger for Nokia 6150 off ebay for 1.99 (incl. 1st class postage!) to test whether or not I have a dud MBU-1000. Will update shortly after it arrives.

Sorry, should have mentioned that COMAND also says 'No phone', even though MBU-1000 is seated perfectly within the cradle. Same message when the cradle was empty. I've not seen any lights on the MBU-1000 so unable to pair. Only had it delivered a couple of days but could it be a dud MBU-1000? Or how to check if it's a problem with the telephone pre-wired? Sorry if I seem such a noddy!