CVT rebuild

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MickyP64

Car
A200 Turbo
So the CVT on our W169 A200T finally gave up altogether!...I've been living in fear that day would come!

I’ve just got the car back after having the Gearbox and Torque Convertor completely rebuilt, so I thought I’d post the findings for others who may find themselves in a similar situation, as I’ve not seen this info posted anywhere else.

Forgive me, I’m not a mechanic but I’ll try to explain what our car has been through lately!

It seems that a common mechanical problem with the CVT found on the A & B Class (W169 & W245) is bearing/shaft wear on the Primary Pulley. Our car has done just less than 60,000 miles, and I’m told that 60,000 to 100,000 miles seems to be the danger zone for this issue.

You can see the Primary Pulley arrangement here - item B01 in this diagram:

7228.jpg

The shaft and bearings between the Primary Pulley and the Primary Actuator wear - I’ve taken some photos of the resulting damage to the parts taken out of our car:

The result is that things begin to drift and not line up, and eventually in our case the Pulley/Actuator locked up and could no longer adjust the gear ratio resulting in the car going into limp mode and giving ‘ impermissible transmission ratio’ error codes.

This same issue also results in the drive shaft to the Torque convertor being pushed too far which also results in wear:

Very annoying!...This seems to confirm that some (maybe all?) MB CVT gearboxes appear to develop problems at around 60,000 miles, but comforting to know that you can actually get the transmission rebuilt, even if it is an expensive option (cost just shy of £2500.00). Unfortunately it seems quite possible that it’ll happen again in another 60,000 miles or so.