E-class 200d or 220d?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

yp1388

Car
Mercedes C-class
Hello everyone and it's my first time on here. I am about to order a brand new E200d (SE) factory made for November, however the dealer has a brand new E220d (SE) available immediately at around the same price. As far as I can see on the mercedes website, these cars engines are identical in CO2 emissions, fuel consumption etc except for the power output. I do not really mind the power as long as I have the lowest CO2 and best fuel economy. Any suggestions to what I should buy?

Last edited:
If you go for the car at the dealers draw his attention to the Drivethedeal.com discounted prices. A basic E220d SE lists at £ 36,700 but the Drivethedeal price (from a MB main dealer) is only £ 29,700 - £ 7k saving.

The delivery of my E350e keeps going back - was going to be Sept and now Nov so the one at the dealers is a more reliable option !!

The government site classifies the E200d with 17" wheels as 102 g/km and £ 140 road tax. As you say, the E220d is exactly the same.

If you are adding options then I would go with the Driving Assistance if you will regularly be in heavy stop go traffic

Actually drivethedeal is where I have been offerred the E220d, so why would anyone buy the less powerful E200d if the E220d offers more power with the same co2 and fuel economy, a bit baffled??

Hey there,

I've had E220d's since they were launched and I've got to say I'm thrilled with them. The 9 speed auto is as smooth as James Bond in a cocktail bar and when in sport+ (rage mode) it's really responsive and more than powerful enough for my short motorway commute. On a 15 mile run my best mpg is 67.9 (and I was trying so hard to hit 70) but I guess I'm averaging low 60's most days in comfort mode. So I don't think that the mpg should be a factor in your choice.