Few questions from a noob.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Heddlo

Car
W203 C180k Saloon 2004
Hey all,
Noob here.

I'm slowly building up my confidence in trying to do stuff for myself, did my first full service this weekend and Consuela is now purring again. Still got to do the spark plugs and fuel filter, but didn't have the right tools or axel stands, so will do them again in the near future. Genuinely surprised how easy everything is.
I have a few questions now though.

1) the air intake hose (think that's its name - hose from the front scoop, leading to the air filter. Goes above the radiator!), anyway it's looking a bit old. Surprisingly that it seems so cheaply made - fabric material. I'm properly waffling now, sorry. My point is, is there any suggestions in making it look a bit nicer and also just renew it.

2) is it worth replacing the ignition coils at the same time as the plugs? I was going to, but they're about £40 each and I need four obviously.

3) is there any other simple upgrades I can do, to help me slowly build my confidence and knowledge up?

Cheers

Tom

This might be useful?
Mercedes-Benz C-Class W203 (2000-2007) Technical Articles – C320 E320 ML320 CLK320 SLK320 – Pelican Parts
If there is no sign of misfire I wouldn't necessarily replace the plugs and certainly not the coils. Haynes recommends changing the plugs every 4 years or at 55-65 thousand miles provided the recommended long life plugs are used.

If you do change the plugs try to disturb the associated wiring as little as possible from its natural "run" It tends to get cooked under that cam cover plate so no bending it back on itself for better access if it can be avoided.
Haynes manual https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mercedes-B...ords=mercedes+class+haynes&tag=amazon0e9db-21
and lots of stuff on youtube.
I would recommend NGK ILFR6A long life spark plugs

I've just ordered that exact book today. So I'll have a proper read when I get it.