GPS Gadget

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jimmy

MB Enthusiast
Car
Discovery 3 TDV6, Discovery 300TDi - Plaything!
I am looking at getting a handheld GPS gadget as a Christmas present. I already have an iPaq with Navman jacket, it is OK for in-car etc but I dont use it for that, I want a handheld device with long battery life for use when walking/hiking. I need to have maps to OS level, I currently have Memory Map software for the whole UK, very detailed showing all usual OS detail.

Have been looking at the Garmin Legend eTrex Colour. Has anybody any experience of this or can recommend another one? Needs to be around £250 (ish)

I'm no expert but I have a Mio168 pocket PC with integral GPS (smaller and lighter than an iPAQ).

Novatech (www.novatech.co.uk) are selling them for £219 with no software, or £299 with Destinator 3 equivalent.

Battery life may be an issue for this though (estimated at 4 hours continuous) but I suspect that will be the case for any handheld!

Nick

I had a Magelan sporttrak which was very good but quite big.

I had a Garmin Etrex (the basic yellow one) which was quite good and very small.

With only 3-4 buttons however, entering waypoints, OS grid refs etc is a bit tedious...

The Garmin e-trex range can only accept Garmin's own maps. They come on a CD, are not that detailed and cost a fortune :devil: There is no way to load any other type of map into them.

Type GPS into your newsgroup server and have a sniff around there, there is plenty of useful information to be found.

Plodd said:
A little bird tells me Jimmy now has a Tom Tom Go. :D :D

Yes, thanks to Plodd I now have an excellent TomTom Go. I am ever so pleased with it. Makes the DX navigation seem stoneage in comparison.