If you work hard to too could own a MB

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
D

Deleted member 113659

I spent yesterday afternoon doing the rounds pricing jobs for the new year (I'm a builder)

I arrived at a house, in a really nice area. On the driveway was a black E220 16 plate saloon. I knocked on and whilst I was waiting for them to answer the door I took a quick peak through the window of the car to see if it was exactly the same as our E Class.

The guy answers the door and caught me looking into the car. After the formal introductions he said;

"Admiring the Merc eh? Well, if you work hard enough in life then one day you may be able to afford one!" :rolleyes:

He is a retired accountant. Obviously he is 'conssssssssiderably Richer than me!'

Ant. :D

Typical builder takes the crappy car or van to look impoverished.
My mate used to take his young daughter on quotes, the cute one not the other one.

^ Should have told him you had one. An S63 coupe that is considerably better than his E class

These days it's more than likely to be 'one day you can lease one of these too'.

:D

These days it's more than likely to be 'one day you can lease one of these too'.

:D

To be fair Allan our E Class is a lease car. :doh:

Maybe he was right. I must work harder. :(

If he was a canny accountant and suspected you might be an incognito Inland Revenue man he may have decided it was unwise to mention the Rolls Royce Corniche parked next to the Ferrari in his Pelican Bay condo in Florida ? ;)

My dad always used my or my sisters cars when doing quotations if he didn't have one of the work vans.

My mate just bought a new GT-R and wouldn't buy a New McLaren 650 as he said it wouldn't be appropriate for home visits (he's a GP).

"Nice car. When you're older you can be a condescending **** like me."