M113 Engine in a project car

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BigPaul

Car
CLK 430
Morning all and Happy New year......So here we go.

I have a clk430, very happy with it and what a great car, so much so, when i started looking round for a new lump to go in an ongoing project, I chose the M113 E50 Engine from a CL500 to go in it!

Let me tell you a bit more about the project car, it's a 1961 Humber Super Snipe.

Now, i didn't just choose the Merc engine by chance, like i said, I own its baby brother in my CLK, and also I've heard of some people putting this modern V8 into some of the Old finial chassis.

Mechanically its a bit of a project with some fabrication of new mounts etc, this is kind of normal in any transplant, but the big is the electronics.

Now before people say it can't be done, i'll point out that I am a fully fledged electronics engineer by trade and have been playing round with cars since I was a nipper.
So, Merc's immobilisers that are part of the key and steering lock, which in turn control the ECU as to whether it will turn on or not, and the part i'm not sure about, does it also immobilise the TCU as well?

I was looking at using an aftermarket ECU from Haltech, seems like good systems and they can also control the Drive by wire throttle body. but is there communication between the TCU and the ECU? what sort of comms is it and does it need to be there for the gear box to work? I'm looking at using the 722.6 gearbox, basic 5 speed job. going tiptronic would be even more work!

So does anyone know if I can flash the original ECU to by-pass the immobiliser side of things as I won't be using/ don't have any of the other car electronics, or the key!

Any help would be greatly appreciated or pointing in the right direction! I'll get pics in and around of the project as it goes on!