Mercedes ML270 eps/bas

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Joderest

Car
2003 ML270 Silver
Hi all
I am new to Mercedes, after 15 years of owning Landrovers, 200tdi, 300tdi and Td5, have decided that the Discovery 3 is too much for me to work on, as getting too old to learn all the "harry Potter" electric thingys !!!
I have just bought, yesterday, after a long search a 2003 ML 270, its had one owner and believe it or not only 36,000 miles from new. As far as I can see, all stacks up and seems to be correct. No rust anywhere, spare unused, drivers seat looks only one sat in, rest like factory fresh. Only one small repair to a door which was pointed out to me on the sale, This was a Private sale, hence no going back now. The bad bit is no books, as old guy who owned it lost them in his move to London, I will overcome that soon. He had a new battery fitted, as has not been used for a few months, but no radio code, but just got that from Mercedes, over the phone, no charge !!!
Anyway, driving it home, on A40, a lorry decided it would like to be where I was, and just started to shove me out the way, I had to really brake to avoid being hit, managed to miss him, said a few naughty words, then looked down and the EPS/BAS light had come on. Due to where I was I could not pull over, car seemed OK, changing up and down, no loss of power. Got to services on M25, turned off, started again, light still on, so took a chance and drove rest of the hundred or so miles home.
Looked on here, some said brake light switch, so had a look, it has not got one !
I have had a look at front brake pads, they are down to about 2-3 mm, so need changing.
I plugged my little OBD scanner in (its only a Maxiscan MS309) and it showed no faults.
OK, question, what am I looking for to fix/reset ?, now I have radio code, could I reset by disconnection negative side of battery, leaving for a while, then connecting up again ?