Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV deal

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
D

Deleted member 6183

My Mrs has been offered a car scheme by her employer, not a company car or cash for car scheme.

I've had a good look at it and it seems OK on the face of it, it's a fuel and go type deal. There is no deposit and it includes car tax, insurance, maintenance, tyres and so on.

The monthly payments are taken before tax/NI i.e. salary sacrifice.

Lots of the more desirable cars are predictably expensive given the type of scheme but one stands out. The BIK band for the above means that over two years the payments are £280 net which seems reasonable for a decent enough car.

Her commute is under 20 mile round trip through town and she goes to the office twice a week on average. I would use it for bumping about town as well and keep my W211 for longer trips.

I've no experience of the car or leasing so not sure if this is good or not, any views?

Given no deposit and what's included then that sounds good.

And a PHEV might even manage a decent portion of the commute on electric - so if you have the means to charge it then that should make it cheaper to run.

There's a new model coming out around now - I think the old one looks uninspiring but isn't offensive - the new one I think is a bit down to personal taste (touch of the Lexus to my eye).

IIRC I read that the claimed MPG is way too high, but real life they were achieving 70 to 80mpg.
But, that's still very good for a 4x4 type and at £280/month including the maintenance/tax/insurance/etc it's a good deal.
My L200 has been quite expensive to maintain at the main dealer. I've had 2 service plans for 3 yrs then 2 yrs. Even though the plans claim to save money they were still expensive to my mind

Suggest that your wife checks out the Mercedes C-Class 350e , like mine and growing number of us on here :)