Ml320d w164 sudden loss of transmission

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

zebml320

Car
mercerdes ml320d w164
Hi everyone newbie here just recently bought an Ml320D sport 2005 W164 model was driving fine until one day last week whilst driving the ABS/ESP light come on and then on the message screen it lit up saying Rear Diff lock overheated please let it cool down but this was only after driving for a very short time anyway then whilst driving up a hill it revved up high whilst in Drive and lost power suddenly and kinda struggled up the hill then later on that very same day it did it again but this time on the flat but this time it lost nearly all power the revs just went really high and wouldn't really move so I had to Switch the car off/on to to be able to drive it again.
The ABS light come on again the following day so I decided to take it to a local mechanic who attached it to a non descript diagnostic machine and told me I had a rear Faulty ABS sensor and also some other codes regarding the transmission but he didn't know what they meant.