My Bike has snapped in 2!!! (56k killer)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

KillerHERTZ

Administrator
Staff member
Car
SL63 AMG
For the past 3 nights cycling home my 1999 Trek Y3 and it has been acting weird, wobbling like it had a rear flat tyre.

Tonight I was cycling home when I attempted to cross a busy road, as I cycled off the kerb I ended up head first into the oncoming traffic!

Bracing the fall, I held my elbow out - now I feels broken :cry:

Anyway, the bike is 5 1/2 years old and I do thrash it, so I guess its just metal fatigue from over the years.

From what I can tell, its just the hingle bolt has cracked, are these avaible to buy? or is the bike a right off?

bike1.jpg

bike2.jpg

bike3.jpg

Anyone else had this happen to them?

Last edited:
Well it sure is the stressed part of the construction. I must confess I am no expert but I would remove all the pieces of this bolt/pin from the frame members and just examine to see if any damage has been done in way of the pin as it passes through the frame members. I would guess a replacement pin could be obtained if you go to a 'good' bike shop - may have to be ordered though.

I bet the pain was only surpassed by the utter feeling of suprise - did you look round to see if there were any witnesses? ;)

It does look like the weak point of the construction, a single pin bearing all that load.

Anyone else had this happen to them?

Glad you're ok :D

A few years ago I had one of those folding bikes with small wheels, you could undo an L shaped locking piece at the base of the downtube (similar in location to where you're is broken) and the downtube itself gave way at the very lowest point.

It happened in approx 10 seconds slowly getting nearer the ground. Next thing I couldn't peddle as the peddles struck the ground and I came to a quick stop - he he - no one was looking but I felt a right pillock carrying the remains back home ( a couple of hundred yards fortunately).