No warranty implied or given due to age of car

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Palfrem

MB Enthusiast
Car
W124 E36 AMG, G 300 GEL his, SLK 200 hers
MERCEDES W124 E320 COUPE AUTOMATIC | eBay

Nice enough car, but the bit at the bottom where he says "no warranty intended or implied due to age " is intriguing given the recent regulation change in consumer law.

Even before that surely 3 months warranty would have been a minimum?

Dealers are liable under the customer regs whatever they say, but if they point out a fault at the time of sale they are not responsible going forward for it. If something goes wrong that they haven't identified they are liable for 6 months.

However, I have a fair degree of sympathy - why should a 22 year old car for under £4k be expected to be fixed at their expense for everything that goes wrong for 6 months?

Nice enough car, but the bit at the bottom where he says "no warranty intended or implied due to age " is intriguing given the recent regulation change in consumer law.

Yep it's now illegal for traders to use those words in adverts or on customer invoices.

I think it looks great though. It looks really clean for a car of that age and even though I normally associate the BBS type of wheels more with BMWs, they look good on that car.

It's such a timeless design the C124s.

… the bit at the bottom where he says "no warranty intended or implied due to age " is intriguing given the recent regulation change in consumer law.

Will we start seeing "SOLD FOR SPARES OR REPAIR" a bit more often - not necessarily on cars at this price point but perhaps on the under-£1000 bangers?

However, I have a fair degree of sympathy - why should a 22 year old car for under £4k be expected to be fixed at their expense for everything that goes wrong for 6 months?

It's ridiculous; a 22 year old car will inherently have issues and if not it would certainly be more than what he's asking.