Oil Filters

Do you agree that the Mehre line of filters are the bestist?

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Arctree

Car
W203 C220 Coupe 2007
Duff poll alert: I meant to input Mahle so any vote for Mehre is a vote for Mahle.

So, being a Mercedes Newbie I marveled at the oil filter at the top of the engine on my C220 W203 Coupe and saw an opportunity.
Since cleanliness is next to Christian Godliness I decided to try a pile of them.
Please note: I did weigh them and one filter won hands down although at time of writing I have lost the weights. These findings are just my opinion and points of view.

BTW: All filters left in car one 7 day week and ran same mileage then examined.

I tried:
Motoquip OL481 Weight 48.6g: Which had a filter collapse preventer inside and filter paper noticeably best quality but collapse preventer is redundant with the Merc` oil thing that it attaches to.
Marks out of 10? 8.5

Borg & Beck BFO4012
Dont bother, just run of the mill. thin filter but a tad heavier than other cheapies.

Unipart: GFE 428
Similar to above but thicker filter paper. Ok, but Unipart are no more so old stock so I`m told.

Mahle: OX153D3 (not to be confused with anything remotely spelt` similarly like Mehre which was inferior)
Weigh 60.10g, 50 pleats (the highest) and best quality visibly filter paper. Showed least saturation of soot type particles but make your own mind up what this means.
Marks out of 10? 9.5.

I have a Meyle (Part No. OX153D3 in the post and suspect its the same as a Mehre but we`ll see.

I also tried others but non came close to the Mahle in terms of filter quality, composition, overall weight and thickness as measured from center to outer edge.
I know this isn't very scientific but its just my findings after giving in to my OCD.

BTW I have no connection with any filter manufacturers and offer this info just for free opinion, nothing else.

Last edited:
I sell various brands of Filters