Purchasing new home from parents - process?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DuFFmAn

Hello all,

I am after some advice.

My parents purchased a home some 10 years ago as an investment. I am now looking to buy this home from my parents to live in. Of course, the house will be properly valued and a proper sale price will be agreed.

I am new to house buying and every little will help in cost savings during the sale process...

I am aware I will need a survey of the property done to obtain a mortgage but what other fees can I avoid? For example, do I need a solicitor to process the transaction? Can I not do it myself via land registry?

Many thanks for all responses.

Massive saving on estate agent's fees.
Is it near any stamp duty thresholds?

Look into your parents capital gains tax. I'm not suggesting that you should buy it for under market value to save them some tax...
Solicitor should be cheap enough if you explain the situation.

I've used postal solicitors twice now.

They are very slow (in my double experience), but they are cheap.

The time factor might not be an issue for you, so the savings may be worth it.

http://www.nbmlaw.co.uk/

Look into your parents capital gains tax. I'm not suggesting that you should buy it for under market value to save them some tax...
Solicitor should be cheap enough if you explain the situation.

In any case even if you do pay under market value the CGT people will not rely on what you paid when determining the tax.

True enough but it depends if the house is easy to value, again, not that I'm suggesting it...
I mentioned CGT because it's something the parents need to look into. If the bill is going to be huge it might be worth speaking to a good accountant. There are legal ways around it, like selling you a portion of it each year, for instance.

As a retired property doer upper I would suggest the following