roadside check joke

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Marvin16x

Car
1997 C280T
evening folks,

i (german) just stumbled upon a joke on facebook and found it rather funny. here's a quick translation of it:

a true story (of course)

policeman at the roadside check: have you been drinking?

man:
yes, i have. you know, it was my daughter's wedding today and we came from far away and enjoyed it very much. it was lovely. and since i don't like beer, i sticked with whiskey, mainly johnny walker.

policeman (bewildered):
sir, you do realise that i am a police officer and i have stopped you for a breath test, do ya?!

man:
officer, you do realise that this is a german car and it's my wife who's driving, don't you?

(now you're supposed to laugh)

this brings back memories of the many times i felt -literally- misplaced sitting in an LHD car in a RHD country. so that's why life gave me such long arms :rolleyes:

have a good weekend.

A long time ago I heard a similarly themed joke.

A couple of traffic police were driving along a road in the middle of nowhere when they saw an elderly gentleman staggering back towards a Rolls Royce, after relieving himself at the side of the road and clearly the worse for wear. Not wishing to let him drive away for safety reasons they breath tested him, which of course he failed. One officer would take him back to the station while the other would drive the Roller back to stop it being stolen.

Off went the police car with inebriated passenger, policeman number two approached the driver's door with great anticipation, looking forward to driving the fine car. As he reached it, the window descended and the chauffeur said, "Good evening officer, I do hope your friend is coming back for you. Good night".

I feel bad now for posting this :D

Is there an English word for very poor and redundant jokes? In German they're called Sparwitz (save + joke) = something you had better keep to yourself :eek: