1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S203 COMAND problem - aerial or nav unit?

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by Rory, Jul 5, 2015.

  1. Rory

    Rory Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    6,970
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Car:
    C270CDi Estate (2004 facelift model)
    My faithful (touch wood) 2005 facelift C Class estate has thrown up a problem - COMAND intermittantly doesn't know where it is, which left me in something of a pickle in Windsor the other day! That's the second time it's happened in the last couple of weeks.

    I know the aerial can fail (I assume it's the external one on the rear door?) but I read that in that case the bottom info bar on the display will show 0 satellites - what happens in mine is that info bar disappears altogether.

    Anyone experienced this issue before?
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Rory

    Rory Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    6,970
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Car:
    C270CDi Estate (2004 facelift model)
    Well, it worked for a couple of 50-60 mile trips over the weekend.

    Got a long journey tomorrow (oddly enough to Windsor again) so I'll see how it goes.
     
  3. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    5,425
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    Most likely aerial

    If you're going to Windsor, its only 15 mins to comand.co.uk in lightwater (M3 J3).

    Richard
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Rory

    Rory Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    6,970
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Car:
    C270CDi Estate (2004 facelift model)
    Thanks Richard - annoyingly I'd have had time last week as it was only a half-day meeting, but this time it's a training course for 2 full days.

    I thought / hoped it would be the aerial, but was a bit thrown by the info bar disappearing completely and I saw a reference that it could be the nav processor.

    I'll try and make time on another trip soon.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Rory

    Rory Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    6,970
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Car:
    C270CDi Estate (2004 facelift model)
    Well, navigation worked perfectly on the trip to and from Windsor, via a colleague's house in (very) deepest darkes Bucks in both directions, over the last couple of days. On the motorway it's generally flipping between 11 and 12 satellites.

    I will say that the response to zoom in and out key presses sometimes seemed slow, and I had to store a new destination and it took a good 10 seconds to complete the save. Maybe it's always like that and I'm just noticing it more?
     

Share This Page