SLK200 R171 remote locking

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mal.p

Car
2006 slk200
SLK200 R171 (2006).I am a new member, and have a problem with locking the car from either remote fob. It will not lock/unlock. The remotes are OK (red light flashes on operating the buttons. The car will lock/unlock from the buttons on the dash. I have checked the fuses for anti theft alarm (8,22,37) and central locking (15,27,28,37). All OK, except No. 8 (antenna booster) in the boot behind a trim panel, this one was blown, and keeps blowing on replacement. I am assuming a fault with the booster, but can't find where it is. Can anyone help me please? Is this a known problem, and will it be expensive to fix? I am a fairly competent mechanic, with a basic knowledge of electrics, I have done a lot of restoration work on old cars, but not a lot on the modern stuff.

Trigger the car alarm to see if it works.
It should sound for 30 seconds and the hazards should flash for 3 minutes.

If you can’t lock the car with the remote in the usual way, try holding the end of the remote a few mm from the sensor on the door handle and press the lock button.

Dec

Last edited:
Car locks/unlocks fine with remoteclose to door handle. I set the alarm with the window down, leaned in and opened the door, horn did not sound, hazards started, but did not stop after 3 minutes. Had to switch it off after 5 mins.

That alarm fault probably has something to do with the locking problem.
Best to unplug and remove the siren from the car, you can replace with a new alarm siren from an MB dealer for about £100, if you fit it yourself. Re-check fuses again after you have dealt with the alarm siren.

I think it’s located behind passenger side wheel arch liner, see here… https://www.google.com/search?q=r17...UICigB&biw=1274&bih=891#imgrc=AZQj9jsvg6ib5M:

Dec