W124 Coupe Newbie - Seat Belt Presenter Diagnosis

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CreosoteChris

Car
1993 300CE
Intro

Hello MBClub.co.uk forum readers – new owner here – I’ve recently acquired a red ’93 220CE, and I *totally adore* it – I actually think it’s my favourite car I’ve ever owned. First time in many years that I’ve bought a car with my heart rather than my head, and I feel like I’m 30 again. I think it’s just fabulous gliding around in my super-elegant retro-chic Merc – I just know I’ve got the coolest vehicle on the road, hands down.

Anyway, the vehicle overall is VGC, and I’m trying to get it to the spec I want, going through the interior, installing a decent stereo (making progress there)….. and my biggest issue – fixing the non-functional driver’s-side seat belt presenter. I’m a half-reasonable home mechanic/tinkerer, kinda looking for some guidance as to where to take the diagnosis from here.

I’ve had a good read of the threads here and elsewhere discussing this subject, and done some disassembly and basic diagnosis – summary as follows:

Symptoms

- Driver’s-side SBP does not operate as expected when door closed
- No whirring noises or other signs of activity

Procedure

1. Swapped door switches (lower door switched used by SBP circuit): Driver’s-side ó Passenger-side
=> Passenger-side stays working, driver’s-side stays inoperative) – NOT DOOR SWITCHES

2. Tried the following: engine running - open driver’s door – close driver’s door - physically pull the extender towards extended position
=> Motorised retraction effort can be felt, resisting the manual effort to extend the SBP arm – POSSIBLE SBP UNIT POSITION-SENSING MICROSWITCH ISSUE (SBP thinks it’s in the extended position even when retracted)
=> See http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w124-e-ce-d-td-class/1504310-230-ce-seat-belt-extender-does.html

3. Uninstalled the complete driver’s-side SBP from the car body