1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dear Guest, Official Club stickers are now available, if you have not already ordered some go grab them now! To order click this Link ----> CLICK ME Go get them whilst stocks last! To dismiss this notice click the cross to the right of this message.

W163 Comand fitment

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by mercman1969, May 1, 2008.

  1. mercman1969

    mercman1969 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Ok folks,

    have now got my comand unit and I suppose it is the GPS thingy

    how best to go about fitting it....is ther a pdf sheet floating around anywhere

    Moving from sinlge to Double Din do you need a cradle to fit the unit into
    what do you do with the GPS module

    Anything else I need to do or is it simply plug n play

    Regards

    Pete
     
  2. wobbly

    wobbly Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Car:
    2013 ML350 AMG, 1989 500SL Now sold, replaced with 2007 Aston Martin DB9
    Fitting Comand into a W163 is really easy.
    Remove old stereo, and compartment that is underneath, there is no cradle, the mounts are already fitted, gps antenna fixes on top of the glovebox, new cable harness fits between existing wiring and Comand.
    Then its plug and play.

    Look here

    http://www.mercupgrades.com/COMAND+Retrofit-article-1.html
     
  3. OP
    OP
    mercman1969

    mercman1969 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    NEW cable Harness? from dealership?

    GPS on top of glovebox...lierally on top of dashboard or underside of dash?
     
  4. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,072
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    W169 A class (loaded)
    If your ML is a post facelifted one then it really is plug and play. If you have a CD changer then you will need a small loom adapter nad possibly an antenna adapter.

    The factory antenna can go on the roof, the cabling is in place and re-appears behind the existing audio10. You will need to cut two black lugs off the back of the double din housing. Connect it all up and switch it on.

    20 minutes tops!
     
  5. wobbly

    wobbly Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Car:
    2013 ML350 AMG, 1989 500SL Now sold, replaced with 2007 Aston Martin DB9
  6. OP
    OP
    mercman1969

    mercman1969 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Am now really confused

    Right ok, here goes what I got

    I have one of these
    [​IMG]

    I have a square Antenna that has this connection on it

    [​IMG]

    The Car in question is a 52 plated ML320....It also has a CD Changer in the boot and an after market fitted DVD player with twin headrest screens

    Do I also require the following

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Cheers in advance
     
  7. wobbly

    wobbly Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,525
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    Middlesex
    Car:
    2013 ML350 AMG, 1989 500SL Now sold, replaced with 2007 Aston Martin DB9
    Yes you will need the harness in the picture, but you will not need to use the antenna cable in that harness as this is a adaptor from the APS30 antenna with a round connector to a square connector, and your gps antenna already has the square connector that you need.

    As for the aftermarket DVD, sorry havnt got a clue
     
  8. Alfie

    Alfie Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    7,072
    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Location:
    Surrey
    Car:
    W169 A class (loaded)
    Yep, I agree with that.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    mercman1969

    mercman1969 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Ok,

    Finally got my wiring adapter....it has a speed sensor wire that is on its own....what do you do with that?

    Regards

    Pete
     
  10. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    5,344
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    Ignore it on the W163, speed signal is already on connector A pin 1, and assuming your COMAND is a W163 unit it will be looking there for it

    Where did you get your harness from ? Does your car have the CD changer ?

    Richard
     
  11. OP
    OP
    mercman1969

    mercman1969 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Richard,

    Got the harness from a chap in Germany..........YEs, Mine does have the CD Changer although having trouble with it at the minute as 1 of the optic cable conectors have been damaged by a guy installing my LPG Conversion

    There is light from the cable but for some reason the Red connector at the Changer lights up the White end of the unit connector and vice versa....very odd
     
  12. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    5,344
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    The fibre lighting up is correct - thats because its transmit at one end and receive at the other end and they connectors are keyed so they fit in the correct parts of the connector shell (or the D2B joiner) - If light works, I would be surprised if you have a fibre cable issue. Check its plugged in at the other end, and that the CDC has power (the D2B CDC will eject the cartridge without the fibre connected)

    The harness you got from Germany should have 3 wires for the CDC and 1 for reversing. Your supplied has put in the speed signal connection (for W208/W210), and there are 2 twisted together wires on cars with CANbus (all except W163).
    2 of the CDC (the power) wires go into the C1 (little) connector, the other CDC cable (wakeup) and the reverse signal go into the C2 connector.

    Really speaking the correct harness only has 4 wires for the ML.

    Your harness picture above is the MY2002/2003 genuine Mercedes version which also converts the antenna cable to connect to the antenna wiring - you then connect a genuine antenna on the roof.

    Richard
     
  13. OP
    OP
    mercman1969

    mercman1969 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    oki koki...........whats the telephone looking thing for?

    Does this mean I have got telephone pre wire...o I do hope so as that is next

    [​IMG]
     
  14. OP
    OP
    mercman1969

    mercman1969 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Anybody have any idea what this is
    I have nothing in my centre armrest so perhaps not pre install
     
  15. Diesel Benz

    Diesel Benz Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Europe
    Car:
    222.132 & 221.122 & 213.050 & 906.633
    Looks like the cradle connector and the antenna connector. That should mean prewiring (if you had something more, it would not be prewiring but a whole HF kit, phone pre-installation).
     
  16. OP
    OP
    mercman1969

    mercman1969 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    There are a few more wires behind tucked away....will try and get a photo of them
    1 looks like an ariel cable but it has a round hole at the end

    Will go and drag out all the cables and get a photo of them

    If it is pre wire, does that mean I simply need a cradle? What powers the cradle?
     
    1 person likes this.
  17. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    5,344
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    The European ML from MY2002 facelift has the following wiring in place

    a) GPS antenna wire from roof (fakra connector) to back of stereo ending in female version of the connector shown in the adapter (1st picture above) (lets call it a XXX connector as i;ve forgotten the name). In MY2004 it ends in the correct grey connector for COMAND. In MY02/03 you need the adapter coax shown in the 1st picture
    b) Phone antenna from roof (fakra connector) to under right hand front seat ending in XXX connector (cant remember if male or female)
    c) Antenna cable from there to the mini coax female you show in 2nd picture. In MY2004 it changes to a fakra for the UHI type connector
    d) Phone control cable from under seat to the back of stereo (also shown in 2nd picture) - in MY2004 it changes connector type for UHI also.

    If you look in www.mercupgrades.com theres a ML phone document which shows a lot of the phone related sections.

    Now, heres the trouble, If you are going to install phone, you actually want to install the UHI system not the MY02/03 fixed 6310i system - which means the coax connector on the end at the dashboard is wrong. But, its less of an issue because you probably want to install it in the centre glovebox so may not want to use much of the car's existing wiring.

    Richard
     
  18. OP
    OP
    mercman1969

    mercman1969 Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    300
    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Ok

    So in a round about way

    1. What is already there is useless?
    2. A rewire will be required along with some hardware to install the phone in centre glove box?

    Ball park figure of price
     
  19. Diesel Benz

    Diesel Benz Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Europe
    Car:
    222.132 & 221.122 & 213.050 & 906.633
    Richard, what about the old HF kit with ViseeO? Or is this kit for even older phones?
     
  20. richard

    richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

    Messages:
    5,344
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    This is everything (except the cradle, but be ware you can not use the MB HFP (cheap) cradle, you have to use the SAP cradle whihc means Nokia phone, or a ViseeO.

    Now, I happen to know that a cheaper ViseeO for UHI cars with D2B ("mbu 2000") is coming (rather than having to buy a UHI 6310i cradle and a Viseeo mbu-1000- pricing is not yet available, although i'd guess at £300 for it. (I have on for eval, but its got a few bugs still)


    Richard
     

Share This Page