What's the difference between avant-garde and elegance specifications

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sparky 371

Especially pertaining to an E class. Around an 03/04 especially.

I know that the wood effect Is different and I am led to believe that the suspension is sportier on the AG

I am sure this has been asked lots of times before but if you could bear with me being a relative newbie here :thumb:

Xenon headlamps versus Halogen headlamps.
Blue tinted glass versus Green tinted glass

Especially pertaining to an E class. Around an 03/04 especially.

I know that the wood effect Is different and I am led to believe that the suspension is sportier on the AG

I am sure this has been asked lots of times before but if you could bear with me being a relative newbie here :thumb:

from memory
tinted windows are blue on AG and green on elegance
seats are sportier on AG
front spoiler is more pronounced on AG
wood is black wood on AG
sport suspension on AG
sportier wheels and lower profile tyres...i think the wheel size might be a little larger too
Oh xenons on AG also - thanks Bobby Dazzler!
(i had a 2004/05 E200k estate)

Hello, as above/below, plus:

the interior colour options are limited.. ie the top dash, headlining and upper door plastics are in black, and the colour choice is on the lower part... so a more dramatic colour contrast than the subtle two toning effect of lighter shades, if chosen on the elegance.

cheers!

Xenons were standard on Avantgarde and an extra on Elegance on the 211 series. On the 212 series, Xenons are standard on the AG but not on the SE.
AG had the suspension lowered 15mm compared with Elegance but on AG you could opt for 'comfort suspension' which was standard on the Elegance version.

Avant-garde = LED brakelights

Tyre size on my 2003 one were 225/55/16, 17 inch were probably an option, they could have come standard on the facelift as my current on has 17s.