1988 W124 260E Automatic Transmission Issues

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Gadgeteer

Car
1988 W124 260E
I'm a newbie here and recently acquired my first old-school Benz. It's a 1988 W124 260E and i very happy i got it. As with many pre-owned vehicles, there are usually some things that need to be fixed.

For my 260E i believe the issue is the 4-speed Automatic Transmission (model 772.409)

Here are some of my concerns. Perhaps experienced owners can give me good advice on what to do.

1. 1. I noticed a sudden jolt every time i shift from P to R.
  2. 2. When driving on D, car sometimes also jolts from 1st to 2nd gear. This happens especially when i slightly release the gas pedal before it shifts. However, if accelerating, it shifts smoothly.
  3. 3. Once on 2nd gear, it shifts to 3rd gear right away, only after a few seconds, without going through the usual power band for 3rd gear.
  4. 4. It doesnt seem to shift automatically to 4th gear. However, if i accelerate and manually move the shifter from 2-3-D, it goes into 4th.

The transsmission shifter bushings needed replacement and so i had my mechanic do this. At this time i also had him check the modulation pressure. Based on my transmission model, presure should be 3.0. Upon checking, there was nothing wrong.

The rubber disk coupling had also been replaced recently.

With these symptoms, what could the problem be? I'd haete to think that i need to overhaul my tranny. Hopefully i can still fix it without doing so.

Could it be the downshift switch under the gas pedal?

I've heard that the use of the additive "TRANS-X AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SLIP-STOP & LEAK FIX" really works and can free up a blocked valve body and prolong the life of the tranny.

I live in Manila, Philippines and the cost of a surplus tranny will cost an arm and a leg, the same with the cost of overhauling my existing tranny.

Hoping for your experts advise!

Cheers!

Leo

auto