1998 W210 E430 - what to look out for?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

funkyrobot

Car
n/a
Hello all. Newbie here.

Potentially looking at an E430 tomorrow. Was wondering what I need to be looking out for. Never owned a Mercedes or a V8 before.

Rust seems to be the big thing. Anything else I need to consider?

Thanks for your help.

Thanks.

Car is being advertised as rust free. Looks good from the pics, but will need to check when I see it in person.

What is the best way to test the transmission? Just drive it and make sure it changes up and down ok?

The only way it can be rust free is if it's an import or someone bought a lot of rattle cans from Halfords. Either way, the salt on the roads over the next few months will mean towing it to the scappy in March. I say towing because the gearbox will have given up the inclination by then.

Check it has 8 cylinders and no glow plugs.

:). Thanks.

It was apparently owned by someone from Mercedes before the current buyer bought it in Jan. He said he has never known such a car to be so clear of rust.

I guess only a visit can confirm. Trouble is, it'll take me nearly 3 hours to get to it tomorrow.

Gearbox and everything was apparently serviced by the previous owner. Used to do all of his own work, apparently.

Car is currently on 140,000 miles.

It's up for just over £1000 and I won't be doing a lot of miles in it as I won't need it for work.

May not be a great purchase then.

what to look for:

# petrol gauge dropping fast!
can you afford to fill it up, V8 is thirsty and fun to drive.

# petrol gauge dropping fast if you have ECC engaged on start ups every time you start car from dead cold!
Turn ignition and block EC everytime before start from dead cold, you will save a lot of petrol blocking the EC for the first 3 min of drive.

# RUSTTTTTT!
open all 4 doors.
fold all rubber strips ontop of all 4 doors and look around from end to end for hidden rust on door frames.