1st Mercedes....... have I made the right decision?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Westygef

Car
S Class W222
Hi everyone. I am a recent owner of a Mercedes 2017 S350D W222 after driving BMWs for many years. I am a retired engineer and live in NE England with my wife. We have 2 sons and 5 grandchildren.

1st impressions of the car are favourable, it is very refined, quiet and extremely comfortable although the layout of the controls and the computer functions are taking some getting used to,but that is down to me and I am sure I will adapt in due course. I do have a concern over fuel consumption however and have made a separate post on the subject

Welcome, am sure you will grow to love your new car

Bit late now to ask that question. But I am pretty sure you will not be disappointed. You have driven BMW for a while so if you have been using main dealer for service you will not be too shocked by MB main dealer cost.

Welcome along. Ask all your questions on here , even the 'stupidest' of questions gets answered (after you experience a bit of harmless ribbing) :) Enjoy your new car !

Welcome.

The S350d is one of the most common models of the S-Class. It is a fine car.

Said that, it is a heavy car equipped with a relatively small engine (compared to the car's size, and to the alternative engines available for the S-Class), and therefore it is unlikely to prove as economic as a small or medium size car with the same-size engine.

So it is unlikely to be more economic to run than a 3-Series or 5-Series with similar sized Diesel engine...

But it's still one of the best mass-production cars money can buy :thumb:

Welcome to the forum, I’m also a “newbie” and new to Mercedes having previously owned the Jaguar I always wanted but finished rather disappointed when I had to get all four doors replaced due to corrosion.