1st 'MOP' Polisher - Meguiars G220 V2

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

KillerHERTZ

Administrator
Staff member
Car
SL63 AMG
Whats the general opinion on the Meguiars G220 V2 MOP?

eBay has it for £159 and now I have a black car, I want it to really shine which isnt really possible from just the normal washing procedure.

Is this a good introduction to polishing? easy to learn/master? I dont really want to spend any more that around the £150 mark.

I'm on the lookout for something like this now I have a car in a colour worth polishing.

I'm fine with a grinder and flapper disc :devil: but is the das6 suitable for a total beginner? or am I going to need 20 tubes of autosol for when i've taken all the paint back to metal on the bonnet :eek:

Thanks for the replies, what exactly makes the DAS6 better? are all attachments universal fit across the board regardless of brand?

Yeah you go by the size of the head, best to have a couple of sizes at least. Large surface area = large head etc

I'm not sure what the differenaces are but my mate who is a machine polisher swears by them.

I was given a DAS6 as a Xmas present about 3 1/2 years ago, read up the guides on detailingworld before using it - and first use was on the offside wing of my Guards Red Porsche 968 coupe!! Apply common sense, and it's easy to use without problems.

One big tip - get some 1" 3M blue masking tape and run a strip along panel edges, window seals, over screen wash jets, key holes etc. These are the places where it's easy to either go through the paint, block the jets or mess up a seal.

Second big tip - have a spray bottle of plain water handy while using the DAS6 with paint correcting fluid, it dries up quickly so the occasional spritz of water helps.

Look on youtube for a Junkman2000

He has a complete walkthrough and is funny as hell to watch. You'll need a couple of hours to watch all the videos

Highly recommend it though.