2 Internet connections

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Spinal

MB Enthusiast
Car
x254, G350, Duster, S320, Mach1, 900ss and a few more
Howdy!

I know this is possible but I've never tried this before so I was wondering if I could recruit some advice. I'm quite unhappy with my ISP (virgin) and am thinking of swapping to BeThere.

That said, I don't like the whole idea of a month without internet - so I'm thinking of running both ISP concurrently for a few months (maybe even a year)

Any ideas on what the easiest way to merge the two lines; doing some load balancing over the two? I'm guessing my switch wont handle it too well(and older AT 8325GB)... At the moment I have an old compaq running Windows Server 2003; with 2 dual-network cards... I'm guessing this might handle it better than the switch...

But I'm really guessing here... ideas? Comments? Advice?

Michele

I think you're going to struggle Michele.

Actually, I think I posted too soon!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=110219007848

Dual-wan ports, load balancing built in and it allows me to choose what traffic goes over what connection...

Its going to be a bit messy; but its cheap!

Fibre->Virgin->WAN0.Hawking
POTS->BeThere->Modem->WAN1.Hawking

LAN0.Hawking -> AT8325 (bridged)

AT8325 -> over to the rest of the house...

Total cost? about £40 for the dual-wan router (I have everything else lying about!)

BTW; one day I'll need to show you a picture of the Dell rack in the bedroom ;)

Michele

Just to clarify - I wasn't trying to combine the bandwidth, just balance over the two connections. I realise that getting two connections synch'ed at both ends is a pain... but with 2 connections balanced I could have one connection uploading the daily build while the second allows me to be productive and browse mbclub ;)

Michele

I'm not sure that supports true load balancing over two different networks...