2002 ML270 Oil Sump Plug Torque Needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

metaron

Car
ML270 W163
Real simple quick question but amazingly I can't seem to find with Google:

What is the size and torque for the ML270 oil sump plug?

OK cheers for that, it's interesting as my bolt(pictured is 19mm)

Is this standard or has someone put a new bolt in?

sump plug.jpg

sump plug.jpg

I've only recently got the car and it's overfilled with oil so I wanted to take some out as I think it's cause injector damage as one of my injectors is hissing with smoke coming out of it so I just wanted to get a little oil out before I take care of the injectors.

I'm no expert but maybe a M13 bolt requires a 19mm spanner.

Do you have an oil overfill warning message displayed?

That's not a standard bolt.

I would not touch it and suck the oil out. Make sure the engine is hot.

Thanks for the replies guys.

Yeah, as soon as you said 13mm I thought b****cks someone had put a new bolt in there! Looks like I'll have to buy an evac pump.

There is no overfill warning light on - does the ML even have one of these warning lights?

The ML dash shows overfill and also will warn when the oil level is low, the warning appears in the odometer display accompanied by a brief 'beep'.

Just to clarify the comment I added previously regarding the correct spanner size in response to your comment that the sump plug was 19mm.

M13 refers to the diameter of the threaded part of the bolt and not the size of its head which is the width of the spanner jaws required to fit it. The following will explain it better.

But, just to make things complicated - 'There have been ISO/ANSI recommendations for some head sizes to be reduced from 1992 onwards, but not everyone followed'.

As you will see from the above chart, there isn't a 13mm bolt listed, this being a very unusual size I believe.