2007 e280cdi no crank no start

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Iptvste

Car
2007 w211 e280cdi
Hi all, im new to mercedes and the forum, i have a 07 e280cdi, for a few weeks its had intermittent lazy starting (slow starter motor) the past few days the srs abs warning as been on the dash but has been driving fine, today it started normal, i went to the shop, done my shopping, got back to the car and it wouldnt crank, the key turns, i can move the gear selector back and forth, all the dash lights up as normal, all lights work, horn works, radio works, everything is fine but it just wont crank, we changed the starter and still nothing, the fuses have been checked and codes have been read but he said there was nothing significant? Any ideas, advice or information would be gratefully received.
Thanks in advance
Steve

Could it have been the glow plug relay module causing the slow starting ? Maybe the relay has totally failed now ?
What state of charge is the battery now ?

Hi thanks for your reply, the lazy starter is the starter motor tuning slowly at first and increasing in speed until the engine starts if that makes sense? The battery, heater plugs and module was recently replaced, the battery is currently at 12.4v

Hi thanks for your reply, the lazy starter is the starter motor tuning slowly at first and increasing in speed until the engine starts if that makes sense? The battery, heater plugs and module was recently replaced, the battery is currently at 12.4v
Hopefully someone who knows what they are talking about will be alone soon ...good luck buddy

How confident are you in the new battery? On the facelift W211s (maybe pre FL too, not sure) If the battery cannot produce 11.5v or more at the point of turning the key to crank, the car will not crank at all - the starter is disabled by the car. With a weak battery, simply firing the glowplugs can often be enough to get the voltage that low.

To help you diagnose this: