2008 220CDI fuel economy

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

diesel demon

Car
220CDI
I have recently purchased a 2008 220cdi Saloon and i'm averaging around 47mpg on the run in to london which is mostly motorway and dual carraigeway driving. If i drive at 56mph in 6th gear and i reset the trip/mpg settings i only get around 50mpg so i'm wondering if there is a problem with the car as MB claim 60mpg @ extra urban. Any ideas welcome.

What MB claim and what you actually get are two different things. I'm a light footed driver and always exceeded manufacturers figures in my Ocatvia, but only average about 40mpg from my C200cdi

thanks for the info. So what gear would that be in? surely not 6th!

got it now-Extra-urban fuel consumption (mpg) defined as: The extra-urban cycle is conducted immediately following the urban cycle and consists roughly half steady-speed driving and the remainder accelerations, decelerations and some idling. Maximum speed is 75mph (120 km/h), average speed is 39mph (63 km/h) and the distance covered is 4.3 miles (7 km).

If i drive at 56mph in 6th gear and i reset the trip/mpg settings i only get around 50mpg

Does the MPG increase the longer you drive like that?

Mine takes 100 miles on the motorway before the MPG peaks and I then get to a point where the slightest uphill gradient will knock .1 or .2 off and then easing it downhill it will recover the lost MPG. At 70-75 it'll settle at 52MPG but the *slightest* urgency will knock 5MPG off that.

I have to say if indicated 50MPG at 56MPH in 6th is the best you can get, especially bearing in mind it's a manual, then I'd be a bit disappointed with that. Wonder how accurate the reading is? - it doesn't measure MPG at all, it calculates it from injection pulses.

I always wonder if these cars can be "tuned" at all - I don't mean chipped or remapped, but whether the injector timing could be adjusted.