2010 vs 2011 E63

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Technoholic

Car
CLS 350 SB, TVR Tuscan
Hi all

Newbie here, newbie petrolhead I should say.

I’m looking for some advice as I’m seriously considering swapping out my ageing daily X5 with an E63 estate. Yes, many people say I’m mad and I may well be but that’s why I’m coming here to gain the expert community knowledge based on my circumstances. I do also drive a TVR Tuscan so I probably am crazy.

so, currently in a 2011 X5, I pretty much hate it. Not SUVs in general, just that car. Nevertheless it suits my space needs for the family and it scratched an itch, but that itch is over now.

At the moment, I generally work at home most of the time, odd trip to clients etc, plus maybe twice a year I drive to Northern Germany to visit family. I also want to be able to traverse the continent without too much hassle if I fancy it.

Right now then, fuel economy isn’t my biggest concern.

im really considering one of these E63s, it’s a bucket list car of mine and while I’ve had a lot of cars, none were like these.

My questions are

1. 6.2 or 5.5 turbo? I’ve heard the 5.5 is the one to go for but I don’t know why, plus I have always wanted a big NA V8 so that would lean me towards the earlier ones.

2. I know the running costs of these cars are going to be higher than the average euro box, not including fuel, I’m ok with what I’ve read about servicing costs and tyres etc, but what I really want to know about is potential for those big unexpected bills. What big things go wrong (that can’t be easily fixed by me on my driveway) that cost a fortune and are they preventable?

3. If going for 6.2 then should I go for the latest year I can find? My budget isn’t massive for the initial purchase but I can stretch if I have to or wait until the right one comes up possibly.