2012 W204 C180 (M271) cam adjuster @ 39K ??

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Harvey69

Car
C Class Coupe
Hello, newbie here, have recently purchased a 2012 C Class C180 Coupe, full MB service history.
At 39700 miles engine light appears on dash, fault code P0340 Camshaft position sensor. Diagnostics narrowed down to intake side - sensor duly replaced fault code cleared - approx 100 miles later engine light on again - same fault code. Again cleared but re-occurred shortly after, and has appeared intermittently since.

Have noticed cranking time to start engine is sometimes lengthy, also on start up the engine is noisy for a couple of seconds (sounds like a diesel).

After doing some research, I am wondering whether one or both camshaft gears (adjusters) are failing? This seems a common complaint on M271 engines. But the only reports I can find seem specific to earlier cars.

- Does this sound like a poss Cam gear(s) failing?
- Has anyone encountered cam gears failing on later 2012 models at such low mileage?
- Could cam gear failure affect cam position and hence sensor faults?
- Have replacement gears/adjusters been modified to eliminate repeat failure?
- Is there any customer support likely from MB dealer?

Sorry, lots of questions, this my first MB car I'm anxious to get some opinions.

Many, many thanks for any input....

Hi

I sounds like the cam chain has stretched, Id avoid driving the car till you get it checked, the only way to be sure is to lift off the cam covers and view the sprockets and timing.

I had similar symptoms to yours on a 211 with a 271 engine and it turned out to be the chain and gears . luckily I didn't damage any valves

Sounds like the age old 271 problem. If you bought from a dealer, take it back to them asap. To be honest though, there hasn't been too many of that age seen on here or the other forum.