220cdi big turbo problems

ozzyboy

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
57
Location
North East England
Car
500E
the car is a 2005 c220cdi manual
it has the electronic actuator
this does not appear to be working correctly
I have an old turbo with the actuator on
would it be possible just to swap the actuator over.the rod seems to be slightly different length to the other one.assuming I change the rod aswell
will it boost as normal or will we need to do an adaption through the diagnostics

any help will be greatly appreciated

:wallbash::wallbash:
 

boyt

Active Member
Joined
Feb 9, 2015
Messages
123
Car
ml270
Are they the same turbo? Mark the position of were the rod mounts to the arm, then try the other and see if it sits in the same place,
 
OP
OP
O

ozzyboy

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
57
Location
North East England
Car
500E
the rods are slightly different lengths
only 1 to 2mm difference
theres more of a bend in one
if they were straight they would be the same length
 
OP
OP
O

ozzyboy

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
57
Location
North East England
Car
500E
the actuator is now making a clicking sound and not moving much
that's why I would like to put the one off the old turbo which I knew was working

the main question is can these be swapped
if so will they need to be adapted
 
OP
OP
O

ozzyboy

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
57
Location
North East England
Car
500E
changed the electronic unit today and cleared rest of faults
now got some boost as opposed to none
but now overboosting
vanes in turbo have just been cleaned and linkage is free as a bird
 

E270 Owner

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,671
Location
S E London
Car
Anything I get my hands on.
Hi theres only one way to clean the vnt and that's by stripping the turbo down off the vehicle.
 
Last edited:

cws196

Active Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
296
Car
S205 C43 Estate
If it's overboosting (but wasn't before the replacement actuator was fitted) then sounds to me like the actuator needs calibrating to the turbo.
 

E270 Owner

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,671
Location
S E London
Car
Anything I get my hands on.
So how did you clean it before you put it on ?

There's no calibration on that unit btw
 
OP
OP
O

ozzyboy

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
57
Location
North East England
Car
500E
Dis assembled from outlet side
scraped excess carbon from all parts then soaked overnight in relevant cleaner
re assembled after flushing cleaner away with oil
 

E270 Owner

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,671
Location
S E London
Car
Anything I get my hands on.
Thats not the way a vnt turbo is cleaned.


Read this pdf document its for VAG but the principle is the same.

http://files.inbox.lv/ticket/8131b26334f26a0cb016720519d5d9a52d3dad74/VNT+cleaning.pdf


I suspect the vnt ring is grabbing causing over boost

The actuator calibration is pre-set by the vnt arm when reassembled.
The ecu will position the actuator on engine start if the vnt grabs or cannot reach the default position it will log a fault code.
There will also be a fault code produced if the vnt sticks open on WOT and causes over boost.
Damage to the actuator worm gear will be caused by the vnt sticking this also produces a fault code.
 
Last edited:
OP
OP
O

ozzyboy

Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2010
Messages
57
Location
North East England
Car
500E
so is it the arm that determines the boost set up
having the two stood side by side one was slightly shorter than the other
ie bent more
 

E270 Owner

MB Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,671
Location
S E London
Car
Anything I get my hands on.
The actuators have different part numbers for different turbos.
You have to make sure they are a match.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top Bottom