1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3 monitors connected to 1 tower

Discussion in 'PC and I.T support/Advice posts' started by mercmanuk, Jun 5, 2009.

  1. mercmanuk

    mercmanuk Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,217
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Location:
    MIDDLETON MANCHESTER
    Car:
    C180 AVANTGARDE SE SPORT GONE AND MISSED LANDROVER FREELANDER 2 LET IT SNOW LET IT SNOW LET IT SNOW
    need advise from the computer guys.
    ive a tower and monitor in my office,ive 1td of films and music that i want to send to my lounge and bedroom plasma tv's.if i get a wireless keyboard my idea was i can watch films on either tv.
    its easy to get cables from the office to either tv but what is the best way and what do i need.
    both plasma's have pc inputs .

    cheers all
     
  2. HughJarse

    HughJarse Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,035
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    North East
    Car:
    c250
    you'll need a VGA splitter - the keyboard aint gonna work over any distance though. Andy what about audio??

    Go wireless and get a media streamer, ps3, popcorn, etc etc might be easier
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. OP
    OP
    mercmanuk

    mercmanuk Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,217
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Location:
    MIDDLETON MANCHESTER
    Car:
    C180 AVANTGARDE SE SPORT GONE AND MISSED LANDROVER FREELANDER 2 LET IT SNOW LET IT SNOW LET IT SNOW
    oh yes,forgot about audio.
    i was thinking of the popcorn unit but thought hardwiring was a better option

    cheers
     
  4. WLeg

    WLeg Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,301
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, Sao Paulo, LAgos, Houston
    Car:
    CT-200h, VW Polo, Rav4,
    I would use a small PC on each TV, connecting to a media server PC (or dedicated box). You can use pretty much any PC with a decent graphics card, or mac minis......Network it all via wireless...........

    Well, that's what I do.....We run a LG 50" off a 5 year old Dell Optiplex SFF.....P4 1.8, 512MB RAM....and happily watch movies etc. The PS3 (also connected to same TV) picks up a couple of the Vista Ultimate PC's as Media servers, and plays Hi-Def (Blue Ray) stuff for us. Bedroom plasma has a early mac mini which was £80.00 off ebay
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2009
  5. flango

    flango MB Club Veteran

    Messages:
    10,938
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Location:
    Gods own county
    Car:
    Mercedes CLK 230 Kompressor Sport
    This is very similar to what I am setting up at the minute, running a LG 37" and 3 x 19" LCD in the bedrooms.

    Some really cheap stuff on e bay I'm running a Dell small form dual core works perfectly,

    Theres a Thread on how to do it somewhere as thats where I got my info from
     
  6. Spinal

    Spinal Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    4,787
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    Uxbridge
    Car:
    Smart, S320 and C180 with 3-pointed stars amongst others
    You could even run an old XBOX (original) connected to your t.v. - just install XBMC onto it...

    It's cheaper than a second PC at £20 or so, and will let you stream just about any video once connected to your network...

    M.
     
  7. Deker

    Deker Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Car:
    2012 3ltr Jaguar XFS
    That's what I use it works a treat but xbox's are becoming a bit thin on the ground so I'm moving to HTPC and trying to find a good xbmc alternative for the PC
     
  8. agatward

    agatward Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    240
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Location:
    Reading, Berks.
    Car:
    A150 SE
    How about XBMC? :D There are Windows and Mac OS versions available, both of which work very well.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    mercmanuk

    mercmanuk Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    1,217
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Location:
    MIDDLETON MANCHESTER
    Car:
    C180 AVANTGARDE SE SPORT GONE AND MISSED LANDROVER FREELANDER 2 LET IT SNOW LET IT SNOW LET IT SNOW
    for the xbmc programme to work does the xbox need to be chipped/modded or will a standard unmodified be ok
    cheers all
     
  10. Deker

    Deker Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Car:
    2012 3ltr Jaguar XFS
    I was looking for something that would work with Hi-Def and blue ray withusing a HTPC, I've played with XBMC, Media Portal and even WMC but haven't got it how I want it yet.
     
  11. Deker

    Deker Hardcore MB Enthusiast

    Messages:
    167
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Location:
    Hartlepool
    Car:
    2012 3ltr Jaguar XFS
    Yes it needs to be modded.
     

Share This Page