3rd brake light

• Thread starter Deleted member 138290
  • Start date
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
D

Deleted member 138290

Well I’ve had no 3rd brake light for a couple months now..... I’ve tried everything that’s advised on the net and nothing..... no other light issues just the 3rd....... could the brake light switch be at fault ? Tho it’s only a year old..... but today I realised that it’s when I hold the pedal down for 3+ secs and the warning comes up on the dash.... it’s 2003 e320cdi saloon..... any ideas please ?

Chances are the leds circuit board is goosed.

Sorry ment to mention I changed the brake light, infact 3 to be exact as I kept breaking them in half trying to fit them...... so the original light wasn’t the issue ..... but it’s got me beat what the problem is....

You may be right , I had a pain with a brake light switch on s class it messed about until I bought a cheap after market and it solved a few problem. But i am no expert

I will try another switch and see what happens

Already fixed the wire, that had been previously fixed.......

have you checked the repaired section to see if you are getting +12v when you activate the brakes?

Wont be brake light switch if the other 2 work

Already fixed the wire, that had been previously fixed.......

I've now repaired the wiring in the boot hinge on my 2009 W211 3 times! and I'm not the first to repair the wiring. As another poster suggested get a meter on the brake light to see if its getting 12V.