3rd-gen E-class - facelift improvements really significant?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Stumead

Car
Between motors
I'm heading out to buy a 3rd-generation E-class estate this week (hopefully) and have read a comments on major websites (RAC/Autocar) that teh facelift model has improved road-handling from better suspension.

Is anyone who has experience of pre & post facelift models able to share their opinion whether this makes a great difference?
I will be doing mainly motorway cruising combined with driving in and out of towns to see buildings (I'm a surveyor) - it's a great big estate, I'm I've no intention of rallying in it, but equally I don't just hang about when driving on A-roads & although I live up a Welsh hill, it's the first one you reach from flat, flat Cheshire and I already have a 4x4 for the hillier side of my life :)

If there's any difference that anyone individually believes is more important between them (perhaps the cup holders are rubbish or door handles stick out or whatever) these can all be important considerations! ;)

Just for clarity, can you confirm that you're looking for comments on the difference between pre- and post-facelift (2006 onwards) versions of the S211 (2002-2009). Newcomers can sometimes go a little off-piste when they describe the five generations of E class.

It would help to know your thoughts on budget and confirmation that you're looking for diesel.

Mercedes_E-Klasse_T-Modell_%28S211%29_Avantgarde_Sportpaket_Facelift_20090717_front.JPG

Personally, I wouldn't get hung up on whether it was a pre- or post-facelift car, I'd be more interested in spec and condition.