7G Tronic Plus ATF Change & Service - E Class 2013

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

microdave

Car
E Class S212
I have just completed an Automatic Transmission Service on my 2013 E Class W212 (estate) 7G-Tronic Plus using the ATF 134FE Blue Oil and thought I'd share my experience. As a guide to my skill-set, I am an engineer with experience in the motor vehicle and aircraft industries, although I’ve mainly been in management role for last 15 years so a little rusty on the tools!

Before deciding to do it myself, I made enquires with well over a dozen workshops (all in UK); however, I got many different accounts of how job is completed, how much ATF is drained and even what ATF is used. Also, my experience at my local Mercedes main dealers was so poor on a technical level I thought there is no way I would let them near it (never seen such rushed technicians).

I seriously advise you to research this job thoroughly before you attempt it as it is not a simple or quick task, although I’m sure I could do it in a couple of hours next time.

I do not intend to go through the whole process as I based my preparation on the following links which were a massive help.

http://www.benzworld.org/forums/w212-e-class/1721568-photo-diy-722-905-7g-tronic.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-72EN_pqUU&index=10&list=LL7zLee2QMFgmwBI3enyWc3Q&t=708s[/url]

You need access to a decent and varied tool kit, including torx bits, hex bits, ¼ & 3/8 socket set, torque wrench and torque screwdriver (to go down to 4Nm), an angle gauge and a sump adapter with pressure pump to refill. A ramp really helps also; doing this at ground level would be difficult and risks contaminating the transmission with dust etc when the sump is off.