A Grilling... Again...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bd1970

Car
Mercedes C220 Estate AMG Sport +
Afternoon everyone!
Recently taken delivery of my ex demo C220 estate. It's the AMG Sport Plus, 2013.
Now it's got the silver/chrome grill. My dealer tells me there is a US market black/chrome replacement in the parts catalogue. Available to order from Germany and "only" around £200! Problem is, they don't have a picture...

Anyone out there a little wiser?

Cheers,

Dave.

Something like this :dk:

attachment.php

Last edited:
Take off the grille, take it apart, spray the silver to black, reassemble, refit. Done! it isn't that difficult to do.

ChrisA said:
Something like this :dk:
Thanks for the link buddy. I've been through the whole aftermarket catalogue. I even ordered one and sent it back as it was nowhere near the quality of the oem grill. As for painting... Nah, I'm no expert but to get a finish worthy of the Merc surely you need the experience and the correct environment to get the finish you need. Plus there's no going back!
I'll have a think....

Dave.

Dave,

easy way forward is not to paint the grill but to wrap it in gloss black, you can then return it to the original silver if you want. Also the wrap will not chip like the paint will.
The chrome strips come off the grill and go back on after wrapping. that's how i did mine.

Front2Medium.jpg
Front1.jpg

Last edited:
Dave,

easy way forward is not to paint the grill but to wrap it in gloss black, you can then return it to the original silver if you want. Also the wrap will not chip like the paint will.
The chrome strips come off the grill and go back on after wrapping. that's how i did mine.