A leap of faith

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

XXKR

Car
Jaguar XKR
Hello everyone, I have just joined the club this morning in the anticipation of acquiring a MB estate very very soon. It will be an intriguing change for me as I have been running a jaguar xkr for the past 7 years! But I have a mini schnauzer and want a safer way of transporting him longer journeys and a car that's easier to get out of would be nice! My user profile is one of 5 mile supermarket visits and other ad-hocs totalling about 2k miles per year. My thoughts so far are for a 350e or 2 litre petrol C class say 4 ish years old. Any guiding thoughts on the matter would be appreciated thanks Phil

Avoid the “e” , and don’t buy a diesel for those trips/mileage . You want a petrol (as you say) , probably the c200 or E200 .
Welcome by the way

Hello W1ghty, regarding the "e" is that a definite avoid in your opinion because of possible problems? Having seen some 16 plate ones the price point looks pretty attractive cheers Phil

Hello W1ghty, regarding the "e" is that a definite avoid in your opinion because of possible problems? Having seen some 16 plate ones the price point looks pretty attractive cheers Phil
I think any repair/replacement costs associated with the hybrid drive are likely to be eye-watering. Wouldn’t contemplate one myself.

Mercedes hybrids (like the C350e) haven't had a great track record, with reports of new battery packs being needed relatively early on (under 6 years old). There are a few threads here about this. I would (and did) avoid - we're on our second petrol C Class estate now.

As the others have said , the “e” does seem to crop up on forums with some expensive issues . Me personally I wouldn’t go near them . I prefer diesels and petrols that most garages know something about .

Really appreciate your inputs, hope I can return the favour one day 👍