ABS air gap nightmare W639 Vito.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GranTouringRacing

Car
W639 Vito 116cdi
Hi i have a 2012 W639 vito 116cdi RWD and it is my distinctive work van i replaced everything as i wanted it a reliable work van, new Bilstein suspension, Big brake conversion, uprated everything, custom exhaust, new bushes, new propshaft, new bearings, the whole shooting match.

My problem lies in the rear abs sensors, like i said all new bearings, sensors, discs and pads, everything was great and then i had limp mode as both rear sensors were reading speed but had the air gap fault, i realised i had bought generic cables so bought another full set from the autofactors, I then got rid of limp mode but the fault is just rear left with the same fault, air gap!

In my 20 years as a mechanic i have never had this problem on a vehicle with a simple hole and bolt sensor.

Is this a common issue, i know i’m being told to go genuine by many people but the fact the right hand side works now but not the left makes me think its something else?

£300 quid for genuine cables when it may not fix the problem seems like a crap gamble to me?

I use the same brand cables for all makes and never get this problem, could i have another issue here or is the gap such a small finite reading on these?

Would a voltage drop, crappy connection do this?

DTC fault code i have is:

44A8

Thats on the icarsoft MBII scanner i’ll put it in Xentry later to see if i get another code?

Also is there a way to delete the brake wear sensor other than cutting and joinjng the wires, my front brakes are 358mm 8 pots so do not have the standard brakes, I can’t see anything on Xentry that can switch them off, is there a fuse i can pull to stop the warning light or is it ‘old skool’ join the wires?

Thanks in advance people!
Scott.
Gran Touring Racing
GTR REMAP LTD.