Advice requested - W210s at dealers, anything concerning about these two?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Martin#30

Car
BMW 740
Afternoon all,

I am searching for a perfect, late S211 7-seater at the moment, but as I am being hugely fussy about colours and options, this search is taking time.

I am tempted to buy a W210 (is the estate an S210 perhaps) 7-seater to run whilst I wait for the perfect S211, so I am looking to find a nice W/S210 7-seater that with luck, will not require much maintenance or depreciate too much whilst I search.

There are two at 'dealers' that appeal right now, but both are 3 hour drives for me so just wondering if anyone can spot anything negative about either car?

Neither has parking sensors or sunroof that I would really like, but these do seem fairly rare on the 210.

It has been 20 years since I had an MB, so I am still learning what to look for.

Thanks,

Martin

Mercedes-Benz E Class E320 CDi Avantgarde 5dr Tip Auto Diesel Estate 3.2 2003

Mercedes-Benz E Class E320 CDI AVANTGARDE 5DR TIP AUTO 7 SEATER/XENONS 3.2 2002

If you are contemplating buying a go-between car, look no further than my lovely S211; http://www.mbclub.co.uk/forums/clas...2004-s211-e320-cdi-avantgarde-%A34-500-a.html
Like you, I originally bought it as an 'inbetweener' and meant to sell it a while ago but it's such a brilliant all-rounder that I've kept it longer than I've needed to, in all honesty.

In my ownership it's had a new auxiliary battery, front brakes and thermostat.

Looking at the prices of those S210's, we wouldn't be a million miles out in working a price out.

A 210 doesn't have SBC, so no worries there. However, their worst enemy is rust and you'd be very lucky to find one that's not affected. The IL6 engines are very solid, as are the 5g gearboxes. As long as servicing has been regularly carried out, you'll have few mechanical worries.

Thank you for the replies gents, very helpful.