Air Con 2013 W204 C63

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rorwoolley

Car
W204 C63
Hi people

Air con stopped working and A/C light started flashing recently. Went to benz for a service, they said it has COMPLETELY lost pressure/charge and needs a new condenser due to corrosion.
I'm an industrial fridge engineer, so I've replaced the condenser myself and recharged.

My problem is now that the compressor is not starting, I've checked the fuses, but that's it so far.

Basic OBD reader isn't showing any DTCs.

Does anybody know if after a complete refrigerant loss you need a dealer level diagnostic tool to reset the system or something similar?

Thanks a bunch in advance.

PS if any one can point me at a relay I should check for the compressor etc, id be grateful

Some MB AC systems need to be reset after refilling.

Star is probably required although iCarsoft or other scan tool may be able to do this.

my new to me 2012 E250 air con did not turn on, the button just flashed but didn’t stay on,
I just had it re-gassed at a non Merc garage and they said it had no refrigerant or oil in the system but after being refilled it works fine so far fingers crossed 🤞 that no damage has occurred, but no reset was required.

my new to me 2012 E250 air con did not turn on, the button just flashed but didn’t stay on,
I just had it re-gassed at a non Merc garage and they said it had no refrigerant or oil in the system but after being refilled it works fine so far fingers crossed 🤞 that no damage has occurred, but no reset was required.
Why was it out of refrigerant and oil?

probabaly never been regassed, they lose a fair bit each year, if a leak, you know in the next 3 days

It was out of oil in the refrigerant (lubricating the system I believe) and I have no idea why because I only got the car a week ago…
The system has 20cc of oil and 590g of refrigerant according to the report I got with the re-gas