am i liable?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Biscuit

Grrrr..... just got home from a weekend abroad to find my motorbike on its side in the street. My mum who was babysitting was pretty sure it was kids gathering snow for snowballs that had done it.

the downer was on its way over it's clipped the neighbour's car. there's a small dent right in the lowest part of the plastic trim. it's only a peugot :)

am i liable for the damage to the neighbors car?

If he can prove your bike caused the damage, then I would say, yes.

I am not sure about that. It was not the bike that caused the damage it was the fact that kids were messing with it that caused it to fall over. I am not a lawyer but I would say that you would only be liable if your bike was in some way poorly maintained (eg it has a weak or defective stand that would make it likely to fall over easily) - otherwise the car owner needs to find the kids that caused the damage. Same as you do if your bike is damaged as well.
As it is a pug offer him £20 to take the car off his hands. :D

bike definitely not defective. it actually went over away from the side stand, i think they must have been squeezing in between my car and the bike - judging by the evidence of the snow removed off my bonnet. or even standing on it to reach the roof?

the neighbour called my mum so i'm pretty sure they've seen the damage.

last thing i want is a claim on my insurance or a messy fight with the neighbour.

Are you 100% sure your neighbour didnt clip the bike with his car, causing it to fall over?

actus non facit reum nisi mens sit rea

You are not responsible unless you intended to or were the cause of the damage (mens rea). You clearly did not cause the damage personally or by intent, but if you are being chased by the guy and he is claiming you are responsible, then unless you can produce a 'witness' that can provide evidence that this is contrary to the case, then liablility could rest at your feet.