AMG tyre choices....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cyclone1

MB Enthusiast
SUPPORTER
Car
W218 CLS63 S AMG
Has / Is anyone running Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 tyres? If so what are your thoughts on them?

Will need to change my rear tyres soon so was thinking Cup 2, PS4S, AD08R’s, 888’s or matching the fronts with Eagle F1 Assym 3’s.

I know most of the above are not so good in the wet, but it’s more the dry grip I’m looking for.

Cheers Jules

Heard very good things about the Uniroyal Rainsport 3's for wet grip Jules. Maybe another brand to consider?
I have no experience of using them myself unfortunately.

Uniroyal Rainsport 3

Edit.......Doh, its dry grip you are looking for. Should read twice before answering:wallbash:

Top summer tyres have that sort of wet performance anyway as they have epic rain channels .

The Uniroyals ( Continental ) wear quickly too , but of a marketing gimmick - shark skin technology , lol.

What type of driving do you do as the Cup 2 take longer to switch on .

There is also the recent Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 !

I ran Michelin PS4 MO1 (AMG spec) on my CLS55. Awesome grip and easily lasted 11k miles

Cheers for the feedback, any other AMG owners running the Cup 2 tyres or have experience of them please?

I’m mainly looking at the dry capability, pushing high power through the rears and how they cope.

Cheers Jules

The odd squirt or prolonged track like licence losing fast road ?
Odd squirt and maybe the odd speed event.

With high power the car breaks traction at 40-70mph and that’s with MPSS tyres (which have been great), so just seeking advice on alternative options that “may” be slightly better. Not massively fussed for wet or general driving as I’m very cautious with the car in those circumstances, plus most road tyres (summer) are decent nowadays in the wet.