Any electricians here?

Discussion in 'OT (OFF Topic) Forums' started by Greenmanslk, Nov 2, 2018.

1. Greenmanslk

Greenmanslk Hardcore MB Enthusiast

Car:
    SLK (172)
    I have just had a loft lnstalled, which was wired into an existing ceiling light; since the installation, the ceiling light occasionally flickers when on.

Ive just checked the switch on the new loft light and discovered it swtitched across the brown lead - is this correct?

The wire into the existing ceiling light is secure so im struggling to fund the cause of the occasional flickering...

2. richard

richard Authorised Forum Sponsor Authorised Forum Sponsor

Car:
    MY04 SL55, MY17 GLC250d AMG Sport
    I am not an electrician and I would advise you to leave the wiring alone and get an electrician, as without experience avoiding electricity is good. Especially so as lighting may not be covered by a RCD and you can never be sure someone didn't do something crazy when odd things are happening and the wires coming from switches go live when the switch is on. They will have proper safety screwdrivers and tested ..

Current wiring standards for single phase are Brown is Live, Blue is Neutral, Green/Yellow is Earth. If you find Black and Grey in your wiring that can also be live in new wiring where you have more than single phase which happens in big houses and industrial premises and you find it where you have two way switches and fans in toilets (and probably in all kinds of other places). And of course a Blue wire can become live if used for wiring in a switch (and should be marked with a brown marker, but that get missed out)

Old wiring colours are different and we certainly have both colour schemes in our house as things have been extended over years. (Red = Live, Black = Neutral). Note therefore that when you have a mix Black can be confusing as it is Live in new wiring and Neutral on old wiring.

Have you just tried changing the bulb in the flickering light ?

Cheers

Richard