Anyone had one. Troubles? what to look for.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

trapperjohn

MB Enthusiast
Car
124 300D 24V Estate
My lad is thinking of changing his Focus Estate - 1.8TdI - 170K Miles.

He has three children to squire about (age 1 year to 10) and does about 15k a year. All private funded miles.

What does the team think about this. I have no knowledge of Vauxhall Diesels. Trying to get him into a 270 Estate but no luck thus far.

2006 VAUXHALL SIGNUM DESIGN 2.8 V6 BLACK (51000k) not astra vxr vectra zafira | eBay

No experience to share, TJ, but around five years ago (when I was looking to change my S202) I was seriously coinsidering the Signum in Elite spec. I thought they looked very distinctive, and the fact that they majored on rear seat legroom reminded me of my W168. Still think they look attractive nowadays, though you rarely see them (which for me is part of the appeal). They seem to be cheap as chips now, too.

Had one as a loaner when I was having my old Saab serviced a few years back. It was the ubiquitous diesel but the space and comfort was exceptional. I've driven a Saab with that 2.8 V6 in it and it was a peach of an engine.

I would be wary of spending that much money on a car with so little description, even if I'd seen it.

I'd risk a few hundred, but not a few thousand.

That's an lot of car for not a lot of money. I've been out of the loop of Vauxhalls for so long I'm out of touch on common issues, but I wouldn't hesitate in having one.

We had an Omega and Astra Coupe when we had our first Baby D, and the Signum was the default choice for our new family car, and is was very impressive, but we ended up buying our W163 - there wasn't that much difference in price.

Good luck with the search John.

Edited to add: I agree with comments that the advert isn't the greatest, but contacting the seller will give you an indication as to whether it's worth a day trip to Bedford.