Anyone owned a Ford Focus ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

vijilants

MB Enthusiast
Car
W205 C43 AMG
Folks,

Was wandering if anyone here has owned a 1.6 Ford Focus in their motoring lives ?

I was looking to buy an autmatic 2002 - 2003 model as a runabout and was wondering how they are as a car.

Im used to mainly driving Jap cars as my runabouts so I am used to mega reliability but the Focus seems to be quite a good car on paper, but I have no experience of them.

Any advice from previous Foucu owners ?

We have a 2003 1.6 Zetec.

Since owning it (about 4/5 years) we've had the following list of problems:

Yup, nothing outside of service items.

Start, drive, stop - that's it :thumb:.

Last edited:
Don't know about the petrol models,but the tdci diesels are brilliant,cracking little car very
economical.

I had an early one for a while.

Around 2001 I think, 1.6 petrol auto saloon - very unfashionable.

Was a no problem car, service items only.

I was looking to buy an autmatic 2002 - 2003 model as a runabout and was wondering how they are as a car.

I had a 2005 2.0 Ghia auto and a 2006 Fiesta 1.6 auto supplied for work for a while.

The Fiesta was simply horrible. The 2.0 Auto was a miserable concoction of engine and gearbox that felt as if ithad been rummaged from the bottom of the Ford parts skip though the rest of the package was OK. Economy on both was poor.

Nissan Note 1.6 auto, Astra 1.8 auto, Civic 1.6 Auto, Clio 1.6 auto, and Corolla 1.6 auto were better engine/transmission packages IMO.

Folks,

Was wandering if anyone here has owned a 1.6 Ford Focus in their motoring lives ?

Im used to mainly driving Jap cars as my runabouts so I am used to mega reliability but the Focus seems to be quite a good car on paper, but I have no experience of them.

Is it a 1.6 diesel you're looking at?